HS The greatest QBs in Texas football history

HS The greatest QBs in Texas football history

April 7, 2021 0 By David

Texas is known as a breeding ground for high school football talent. The state is famous for cutting elite perspectives and sending them to the next level, ready to produce from the moment they arrive on campus.

Some of Texas’ brightest and most famous talents over the years have populated the position of defender. From the state’s record holders to this year’s street players and all Americans, the state has seen more than its fair share of elite back defenders.

With that in mind, USA Today High School Sports has dropped out of the top ten defenders in Texas high school football history. The criteria considered are the success of high school, college, and the NFL.

Andrew Luck – Stratford

Happiness was thrown at 7,139 yards during his career at Stratford High School. He then went to Stanford, where he was a double-double American, before the Colts selected him as No. 1 in the 2012 NFL Draft.

Before retiring at age 29, Luck collected four professional bowls in seven seasons in Indianapolis.

Vince Young: Madison

During his Madison High School career, Young has dominated the Texas defense with arms and legs and has placed 12,987 attacks and won the National Parade Player of the Year award as a parent.

Young drew with Texas and took his name into the Longhorns tradition throughout his Austin time, winning a national championship in 2005 and a Davey O’Brien award before jumping into the NFL.

The young man didn’t really measure the leap that followed him to the next level, but he made two trips to the Pro Bowl and won this year’s offensive rookie Titans in 2006 before retiring after nine seasons.

Matthew Stafford – Highland Park

Stafford threw 8,958 yards during his three-year college career at Highland Park High School and won an American parade along the way. He also received a U.S. award in Georgia before becoming number one in the 2009 NFL Draft.

After spending 12 seasons with the Lions, Stafford switched to the Rams this season. He is currently ranked 16th on the NFL Pass Pass list all the time.

O’Brien led Woodrow Wilson to the title of high school district and won second state as the team’s junior. O’Brien wrote his college football at TCU, where he became the first player to win the Heisman Prize and the Maxwell Prize in 1938.

O’Brien retired after just two seasons with the Eagles in the NFL, but his legacy was lost in the Davey O’Brien Award, which is awarded annually to the best quarterback in college football.